Video Picks
Powered by CircleSquareLA
Thursday, 06 June 2024



Get ready to groove! David Byrne and DEVO have unearthed their decades-old gem, "Empire," for a special cause. This long-unheard collaboration is finally seeing the light of day as part of the charitable compilation album **NOISE FOR NOW VOL. 2**, supporting abortion access. The track, which melds Byrne's eclectic style with DEVO's signature energy, promises to be an auditory treat for fans old and new. Catch this legendary reunion and support a great cause by tuning in when the album drops on June 21st.  See Press Release below for additional details!


Press Release (Shazila Mohammed | Grandstand Media)

On June 21st, 501(c)3 non-profit organization NOISE FOR NOW will release the second album on their recently launched label, NOISE FOR NOW VOL. 2. The release coincides with the two-year anniversary of the Supreme Court’s Dobbs decision, forever changing the landscape of reproductive rights in the United States. Continued attacks on abortion further overextend already under resourced independent clinics as they adapt, respond and challenge these bans. Set to benefit independent abortion providers throughout the nation via Keep Our Clinics, the album features exclusive versions of tracks by Faye Webster, The War On Drugs, Courtney Barnett, David Byrne and Devo, MC50 ft. Arrow De Wilde, Big Freedia, SOFIA ISELLA, Julia Jacklin, Becca Mancari, Claud and AJ Haynes (of Seratones). NOISE FOR NOW VOL. 2 will be available on vinyl at your local record store and digitally across all streaming platforms. Pre-save / pre-order the album here:

Today, NOISE FOR NOW shares the latest release from the album, “Empire” from David Byrne and DEVO, following last month’s release of Faye Webster’s "Lifetime (Live)." The song was originally released via the 2022 digital-only benefit compilation, Good Music To Ensure Safe Abortion Access To All, which was available for only 24 hours via Bandcamp and, along with the t-shirt sales featuring the album’s Kim Gordon-created “Liberate Abortion” cover art, grossed over $230,000. 

“Years ago, I did a record called Feelings in which I collaborated with different musicians on the songs,” notes Byrne. “I worked with members of DEVO on 2 songs, one of which is on the album. The other one, ‘Empire,’ is an ironic capitalist fascist anthem and, at the time, I thought our version was just too mean and caustic for release. Well, times change, and it certainly resonates now in ways it maybe didn't then. It was a joy to work with the DEVO guys, they knew exactly what the song is about.” DEVO’s Gerald Casale also says, “We were on board working with the dark satire of David Byrne’s ‘Empire’ over 30 years ago. The song was prescient and we got it. Now it can be heard!” 

“Freedom of Choice is what you’ve got. Freedom from Choice is what you want. (DEVO 1980)” – “Unfortunately the forces of tyranny are striking with impunity now. These bad actors are not Pro-Life so much as they are Anti-Choice. They want women to live in a real life version of The Handmaid’s Tale,” adds Casale. “But there’s more of us who respect human rights than those who want to crush those rights. Freedom of Choice is a constant fight. DEVO salutes NOISE FOR NOW for their efforts to save a woman’s right to abortion.”

NOISE FOR NOW enables artists and entertainers to connect with and financially support grassroots organizations that work in the field of Reproductive Justice including abortion access. The organization believes that we all deserve accurate and consistent information, access to safe and dignified health care, and the ability to control our bodies and lives. The new compilation follows the release of NOISE FOR NOW Vol 1 – a special vinyl-only limited edition album featuring tracks from Maya Hawke, Amanda Shires and Jason Isbell, Bully, Wet Leg, My Morning Jacket, Fleet Foxes, and more. The LP was released in November 2023 and is available on clear vinyl via the NOISE FOR NOW store HERE. These songs were originally found on the Good Music To Ensure Safe Abortion Access To All benefit compilation.


01 - Julia Jacklin - “Dead From The Waist Down (Catatonia cover)”

02 - Courtney Barnett - “Boxing Day Blues (Demo)”

03 - Becca Mancari - “It's Too Late (Demo)”

04 - The War On Drugs - “Victim (Live)”

05 - MC50 feat. Arrow DeWilde - “High School (Live)”

06 - A.J. Haynes (of Seratones) - “Everything is Change”

07 - Claud - “Spare Tire (Demo)”

08 - Faye Webster - “Lifetime (Live)

09 - SOFIA ISELLA - “Hot Gum (she version)”

10 - David Byrne and Devo - “Empire

11 - Big Freedia - “Holatta”

Pre-save / pre-order here:


Written by  Matthew Belter
Last modified on Thursday, 06 June 2024
    Long time favorite Tech N9ne will go down as one of the best to ever do it. Whether it’s his incredible lyricism or collabs with other artists, he always brings a new level to any song he writes or is featured on. You can say that about his newest powerful… Read more
    Posted Friday, 12 July 2024
    On the heels of Buju Banton’s Long Walk To Freedom New York concert at UBS Arena July 13th, Buju has released a new single and video, “This Is Jamaica.” Buju was granted a Visa recently by the U.S. (I was surprised at this but so happy) and shortly after he… Read more
    Posted Friday, 12 July 2024
    Yelawolf's new video "Legend" is a compelling showcase of his distinctive style, blending gritty Southern rap with a rock-infused edge. Directed by Patrick Tohill (@patricktohill) the video complements the track's intensity with a visual narrative that is as raw and authentic as Yelawolf's lyrical delivery. From a music production standpoint… Read more
    Posted Thursday, 04 July 2024
    Phish, the legendary jam band from Vermont, continues to push musical boundaries with their latest release, "Oblivion", from their their upcoming album, Evolve, set to drop on July 12th. Known for their genre-defying style and improvisational brilliance, Phish once again showcases their creative prowess and importance within the music scene… Read more
    Posted Monday, 10 June 2024
    Eminem is back, and better than ever, with his latest video "Houdini." This new release has taken the internet by storm, and it's no wonder why. From jaw-dropping visuals to unexpected cameos, "Houdini" is a feast for the eyes and ears. The video kicks off with a bang, featuring a… Read more
    Posted Saturday, 08 June 2024